Viewing and Reverting Configuration Changes

View and revert configuration changes made in Cloudera Manager.

Minimum Required Role: Configurator (also provided by Cluster Administrator, Limited Cluster Administrator , and Full Administrator)

Whenever you change and save a set of configuration settings for a service or role instance or a host, Cloudera Manager saves a revision of the previous settings and the name of the user who made the changes. You can then view past revisions of the configuration settings, and, if desired, roll back the settings to a previous state.

Viewing and reverting configuration changes for a service, role, or host

View and revert configuration changes for a service, role, or host.

  1. Go to the Status page for a service, role, or host
  2. Click the Configuration tab. (To view configurations for all hosts, go to Hosts > All Hosts > Configuration.)
  3. Click the History and Rollback link.
    The Configuration History opens and displays a table of configuration changes.
  4. (Optional) Click Filter by Time Range and select a time range from the options on the right (30m, 1h, 2h, 6h, 12h, 1d, 7d, 30d) to limit the historical display.
  5. Click the Details link.
    The Revision Details dialog box displays details of the configuration change.
  6. (Optional) Click the Revert Configuration Changes button to revert the configuration change.
    Cloudera Manager may show a message indicating required restarts.

Viewing and reverting configuration changes for a cluster

View and revert configuration changes for a cluster.

  1. Go to the Status page for the cluster.
  2. Click Configuration > Configuration History.
    The Configuration History opens and displays a table of configuration changes.
  3. (Optional) Click Filter by Time Range and select a time range from the options on the right (30m, 1h, 2h, 6h, 12h, 1d, 7d, 30d) to limit the historical display.
  4. (Optional) Click the Details link in a row to view more information about the change.
    The Revision Details dialog box displays details of the configuration change.
  5. (Optional) Click the Revert Configuration Changes button to revert the configuration change.
    Cloudera Manager may show a message indicating required restarts.