Step 2: Cluster Basics

The Cluster Basics page allows you to specify the Cluster Name and select the Cluster Type.

There are two cluster types:
  • Regular Cluster: A Regular Cluster contains storage nodes, compute nodes, and other services such as metadata and security collocated in a single cluster.
  • Compute Cluster: A Compute Cluster consists of only compute nodes. To connect to existing storage, metadata or security services, you must first choose or create a Data Context on a Base Cluster.

If you are performing a new installation, Regular Cluster is the only option. You cannot add a compute cluster if you do not have an existing base cluster.

For more information on regular and compute clusters, and data contexts, see Virtual Private Clusters and Cloudera SDX.

If you are adding a compute cluster to an existing base cluster, click Choose Data Context... to create or select a data context.

After selecting a cluster type and data context (if applicable), enter a cluster name and then click Continue.

After a cluster is created, you can change the cluster display name using the Rename Cluster operation, but the internal name remains same. For more information, see Renaming a cluster.