Step 11: Finalize the HDFS Upgrade

Loading Filters ... 7.2.4 7.1.4 7.1.3 7.1.2 7.1.1 7.0.3 6.3.3 6.3.1 6.3.0 6.2.1 6.2.0 6.1.1 6.1.0 6.0.1 6.0.0 5.16 5.15 5.14 5.13 6.3.3 6.3.2 6.2.1 6.2.0 6.1.1 6.1.0 6.0.1 6.0.0 5.16 5.15 5.14 5.13 7.1.5 7.1.4 7.1.3 7.1.2 7.1.1 7.0.3 7.2.4 7.1.4 7.1.3 7.1.2 7.1.1 7.0.3 6.3.3 6.3.1 6.3.0 6.2.1 6.2.0 6.1.1 6.1.0 6.0.1 6.0.0 5.16 5.15 5.14 5.13

To determine if you can finalize the upgrade, run important workloads and ensure that they are successful. After you have finalized the upgrade, you cannot roll back to a previous version of HDFS without using backups. Verifying that you are ready to finalize the upgrade can take a long time.

Make sure you have enough free disk space, keeping in mind that the following behavior continues until the upgrade is finalized:
  • Deleting files does not free up disk space.
  • Using the balancer causes all moved replicas to be duplicated.
  • All on-disk data representing the NameNodes metadata is retained, which could more than double the amount of space required on the NameNode and JournalNode disks.
If you have Enabled high availability for HDFS, and you have performed a rolling upgrade:
  1. Go to the HDFS service.
  2. Select Actions > Finalize Rolling Upgrade and click Finalize Rolling Upgrade to confirm.

If you have not performed a rolling upgrade:

  1. Go to the HDFS service.
  2. Click the Instances tab.
  3. Click the link for the NameNode instance. If you have enabled high availability for HDFS, click the link labeled NameNode (Active).

    The NameNode instance page displays.

  4. Select Actions > Finalize Metadata Upgrade and click Finalize Metadata Upgrade to confirm.