Creating a workspace

In addition to the standard public workspace that is shared by all users, and the single private workspace that each user has, administrators and users who have the Create Workspace privilege can create custom workspaces in CDP Data Visualization.

Workspaces may be shared with specific users and user groups to develop and view dashboards that are inherently useful to their line of business. Within each of these workspaces, each user has a defined access level: View Only, Edit, or Manage.

Only users with Create Workspace system-level privilege can perform this task.
  1. On the main navigation bar, click Visuals.
  2. On the left side menu, find the Workspaces section.
  3. Click the (plus) icon.
  4. In the Create Workspace modal window, enter the Name and Description of the new workspace.
  5. [Optional]
    • In the (user) textbox, enter the account name of an existing user.
    • In the (group) textbox, enter the name of one or more existing user groups. To include everyone, type Everyone.

    If a user has a permission either through her username and group membership, or through multiple groups, that user has the broadest possible permissions. For example, if the user is part of "visual viewer" group and "dashboard editor" group (which has manage permission), that user has the manage permission.

  6. Click Add.
  7. After adding all users and user groups, select the appropriate type of access: View Only, Edit, or Manage.
    • View only

      Users with this privilege can see the contents of the workspace, and access them in view mode. However, they are unable to make any changes.

    • Edit

      Users with this privilege can move dashboards in and out of the workspace. With adequate dataset permissions, they can also edit, delete, or clone any visuals, dashboards, or apps within this workspace.

    • Manage

      Users with this privilege can change the name of the workspace, delete it when it is empty, add and remove users, and add and remove user groups. This also includes all Edit privileges.

  8. Click Save.

    The workspace appears in the list of workspaces. This new workspace does not have any dashboards or visuals assigned to it at this time.