Upgrading and rolling back Cloudera Surveyor for Apache Kafka
Learn about upgrading and rolling back Cloudera Surveyor. Upgrading and rolling back Cloudera Surveyor is done with helm commands. Use helm upgrade to upgrade to a new release, and helm rollback to roll back to a previous release. Both operations are seamless and require no downtime, ensuring uninterrupted service.
Upgrading Cloudera Surveyor
You upgrade Cloudera Surveyor using helm upgrade. The upgrade is a two-step process. First, you upgrade the Cloudera Surveyor server, afterward, you upgrade the Cloudera Surveyor UI. You also use helm history and take note of revisions before and during the upgrade.
During the upgrade, when the server is upgraded but the UI is not, you might encounter minor UI issues. For example, the configuration of some topics might fail to load. This is temporary, all data is loaded correctly once the upgrade finishes.
This release introduces inter-instance TLS for Cloudera Surveyor's distributed snapshot cache, which is enabled by default. Before upgrading, do one of the following, otherwise the Pods fail to start and the upgrade fails.
-
To enable inter-instance TLS (recommended): Prepare a keystore and truststore for inter-instance TLS in the Cloudera Surveyor namespace, then update your values file. See Configuring TLS channel encryption for the required configuration.
-
To disable inter-instance TLS: Add the following to your values file before upgrading.
surveyorConfig: surveyor: clustering: tls: enabled: false
Reload the browser page where you access the UI to ensure that the latest version of the UI is displayed. The browser may continue to show a previous version of the UI until you refresh.
Rolling back Cloudera Surveyor
You roll back Cloudera Surveyor using helm rollback. A rollback involves listing and identifying the upgrade revisions that you want to roll back to. Afterward, you complete a two-step rollback process where you roll back the Cloudera Surveyor UI and the Cloudera Surveyor server.
-
During the rollback, when the server is still upgraded but the UI is already rolled back, you might encounter minor UI issues. For example, the configuration of some topics might fail to load. This is temporary, all data is loaded correctly once the upgrade finishes.
-
If you took note of your revisions during the upgrade process, skip steps 1 and 2.
Reload the browser page where you access the UI to ensure that the latest version of the UI is displayed. The browser may continue to show a previous version of the UI until you refresh.
