Decommissioning Hosts

Cloudera Manager manages the host decommission and recommission process and allows you the option to specify whether to replicate the data to other DataNodes, and whether or not to suppress alerts.

Decommissioning a host decommissions and stops all roles on the host without requiring you to individually decommission the roles on each service. Decommissioning applies to only to HDFS DataNode, MapReduce TaskTracker, YARN NodeManager, and HBase RegionServer roles. If the host has other roles running on it, those roles are stopped.

Minimum Required Role: Limited Operator (also provided by Operator, Configurator, Cluster Administrator, or Full Administrator).

To decommission one or more hosts:

  1. In Cloudera Manager, select the cluster where you want to decommission hosts.
  2. In the left menu, click Hosts > All Hosts.
  3. Select the hosts that you want to decommission.
  4. Select Actions for Selected > Begin Maintenance (Suppress Alerts/Decommission.
    (If you are logged in as a user with the Limited Operator or Operator role, the menu item is labeled Decommission Host(s) and you will not see the option to suppress alerts.)
    The Begin Maintenance (Suppress Alerts/Decommission) dialog box opens. The role instances running on the hosts display at the top.
  5. To decommission the hosts and suppress alerts, select Decommission Host(s). When you select this option for hosts running a DataNode role, choose one of the following (if the host is not running a DataNode role, you will only see the Decommission Host(s) option:):
    • Decommission DataNodes

      This option re-replicates data to other DataNodes in the cluster according to the configured replication factor. Depending on the amount of data and other factors, this can take a significant amount of time and uses a great deal of network bandwidth. This option is appropriate when replacing disks, repurposing hosts for non-HDFS use, or permanently retiring hardware.

    • Take DataNode Offline
      This option does not re-replicate HDFS data to other DataNodes until the amount of time you specify has passed, making it less disruptive to active workloads. After this time has passed, the DataNode is automatically recommissioned, but the DataNode role is not started. This option is appropriate for short-term maintenance tasks such not involving disks, such as rebooting, CPU/RAM upgrades, or switching network cables.
  6. Click Begin Maintenance.
    The Host Decommission Command dialog box opens and displays the progress of the command.
Perform the necessary maintenance on the hosts.