Delete an environment
Deleting an environment terminates all resources within the environment including the Data Lake.
Before you begin
To delete an environment, you should first terminate all clusters running in that environment.
Required role: Owner or PowerUser
- In Management Console, navigate to Environments.
- Click on your environment.
and confirm the deletion.
- Check the box next to "I would like to delete all connected resources" if you have Data Lake and Data Hub clusters running within the environment. This will delete the Data Lake and Data Hub clusters together with the rest of the environment.
- Check the box next to "I understand this action cannot be undone". This is required.
- Click Delete.
When terminating an environment from the CDP CLI, you need to first terminate the Data Lake:
- Terminate the Data Lake using the following command:
cdp datalake delete-datalake --datalake-name <value>
- Wait until the Data Lake terminates before proceeding. Use the following commands to
check on the status of Data Lake:
cdp datalake get-cluster-host-status --cluster-name <value>
cdp datalake list-datalakes
- Delete the environment using the following command:
cdp environments delete-environment --environment-name <value> --cascading
--cascadingoption deletes or Data Hubs running in the environment.
If environment deletion fails, you can:
- Repeat the environment deletion steps, but also check "I would like to force delete the selected environment". Force deletion removes CDP resources from CDP, but leaves cloud provider resources running.
- Clean up cloud resources that were left on your cloud provider account. See Cleaning up a failed AWS environment.
Only the resources that were provisioned as part of the environment are deleted. For example, if a new network was created by CDP for the environment, the network will be deleted; But if you provided your existing network, it will not be deleted as part of environment deletion.