Remembering previous selections on dashboard filters

In dashboard filters, you can view previous selections when searching for a new value.

This option is on by default.

Here, we demonstrate how to enable or disable this option, and how the filter behaves at run time both with and without the option:

Enabling 'Remember Previous Selections'

  1. In dashboard Edit mode, hover over a filter on the dashboard until the controls appear on the top right corner of the widget.
  2. Click the Gear icon.

    The Settings modal window appears.

  3. In the Settings modal window, click the Display Settings tab.
  4. Select the option Remember previous selections. By default, it is turned on.
  5. Click Apply.
  6. Save changes to the dashboard.

Using Filters with 'Remember Previous Selection'

To see how the 'Remember previous selections' option works, you must see the dashboard in View mode. Contrast this with the next section, Using Filters Without 'Remember Previous Selection'.

Here, we are using a dashboard based on Cereals dataset, and a dashboard filter based on the dataset field cereal_name.

Follow these steps:

  1. Select All-Bran and Almond-Delight from the dropdown menu.
  2. Enter Basic_4 in the search box, and click the Search icon to find the value.
  3. Click Basic_4 to confirm the selection.
  4. Click the Show Selected option.

Using Filters Without 'Remember Previous Selection'

When this option is disabled, the user is unable to see the previous selections.

Here, we are using the same dashboard and filter on cereal_name as in the previous section, Using Filters with 'Remember Previous Selection', but with the option disabled.

To use the filter without the option, follow these steps:

  1. Select All-Bran and Almond-Delight from the dropdown menu.
  2. Enter Basic_4 in the search box, and click the Search icon to find the value.
  3. Click Basic_4 to confirm the selection.
  4. Click Show Selected.

    Note that the top bar and the list at the bottom shows only the last selection, Basic_4.